Raipur Defence Academy Join for sure selections

What is INET?

Indian Navy is one of the most prestigious naval forces in the world, responsible for safeguarding our country above and below the surface of the ocean. Indian Navy Entrance Test or INET is a national-level entrance exam conducted for selection of Officers in various branches/entries of Indian Air Force such as Executive, Educational and Technical. Selected candidates are granted Permanent Commission (PC) and Short Service Commission (SSC) and undergo training at the Indian Naval Academy (INA) Ezhimala, Kerala. The exam is conducted twice a year and is open for unmarried male and female candidates.

INET Exam 2020 Highlights

Name of the exam


Conducting authority

Indian Navy

Level of exam


Mode of exam

Written exam


Selection of Officers in Sub Lieutenant

Purpose of exam

For the selection of Officers for grant of PC and SSC

Selection process

INET, SSB Procedure and Medical

Duration of test

Two hours


English, Reasoning & Numerical Ability, General Science, Mathematical Aptitude & General Knowledge

Official website


Helpline number


INET Eligibility Criteria 2020

The eligibility criteria for INET is different for different posts. For some posts, both male and female candidates can apply. While some posts are open for only female or male candidates. INET eligibility criteria for executive, education and technical branches are given below.

Post Educational Qualification

Executive Branch

BE/B Tech with minimum 60% marks. Candidate must have 60% aggregate marks in class 10 and 12. Moreover, candidates must have secured 60% marks in English in class 10 and 12.

Technical Branch

BE/B Tech with a minimum of 60% marks

Education Branch

First Class in MSc. For some posts under this branch, BE/B Tech with minimum 60% is required. Candidates applying for the education entry must have scored a minimum of 60% in Class 10 and 12 as well as in English.